"How to" Guides

Guides that describe, step-by-step, how to create connections, assets, assign assets to connections, etc. Many of these guides include a short video demonstrating the actual steps.

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Assets" tab.
  2. Click the "ADD ASSETS" button (on the right).
  3. Select your type of asset (Video, Audio/Music, Picture, or Document).
  4. After the page refresh, fill out the Title and Description.
  5. In the "Upload File" section, browse for the file** that you wish to share.
  6. Click the "Upload" button to transfer a copy to the My Own Last Words server.
  7. After the upload completes, click the "Save" button to save your asset.

**NOTE: Video files are stored in their raw (as uploaded by you) and also in HTML5 friendly formats for playback and longevity.

Here is a video clip demonstrating the creating a video asset (other asset types are similar).

 

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Connections" tab.
  2. Click the "+ADD NEW" button (on the right).
  3. Enter the connection information (First and Last name as well as primary e-mail address).
  4. Click the "Add Connection" button to advance.
  5. If the user (connection) already has an account, you will be asked to "Approve Connection" directly.
  6. If the user (connection) does NOT have an exsting account, you will be asked to provide additional information:
    • Alternate e-mail address
    • Phone
    • Postal address
  7. You will also be given the option to mark the user as Trusted (see General Topics for details).
  8. You will given a chance notify the new user that you have created a connection.

Adding a subscriber as a connection:

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Connections" tab.
  2. Select (click) the image of the connection that you wish to share an asset with.
  3. After the connection details load, scroll down to the ASSETS section.
  4. In the "ASSETS" section, select (drop-down menu) the asset that you wish to share with this connection.
  5. Click the "Assign Asset" button to share the asset.
  6. You may now "Close" the details section.

Assigning an asset to a connection:

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Connections" tab.
  2. Select (click) the image of the connection that you wish to remove the asset from.
  3. After the connection details load, scroll down to the ASSETS section.
  4. In the "ASSETS" section, click the "Unassign" button to remove the asset.
  5. You may now "Close" the details section.

Removing an asset from a connection:

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Assets" tab.
  2. Select (click) the asset that you wish to remove.
  3. After the asset details load, click on the "Delete Asset" button.

Removing an asset:

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Connections" tab.
  2. Select (click) the image of the connection that you wish to remove.
  3. After the connection details load, click on the "Delete" button.

Removing a connection:

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to any page on the site (e.g. this FAQ).
  2. Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the web site.
  3. Find the "NOTIFY US OF A PASSING" button and click on it.
  4. Follow the steps required to identify the deceased user and provide the appropiate proof (i.e. a death certificate in most cases).

After you've logged into My Own Last Words:

  1. Go to the "My Assets" tab.
  2. Click on the asset that you wish to modify.
  3. After the asset properties section loads, scroll down to...
    • Change the "Title" text.
    • Change the "Description" text.

To replace the attached document, picture, video, etc., you must first remove the existing.

  1. Click the "Remove" button to delete the existing content.
  2. Browse and Upload the new content.
    • Note that you can also change the content type using the dropdown menu.

Finally, be sure to click on "Save Changes".

Once logged in, click on the "Home" link in the upper right corner of the web page. This will navigate you back to your dashboard (where the tabs are located).

General Topics

General topics including definition of terms, ideas on how to get the most of the site, and questions/answers from users and staff.

My Own Last Words is a place to leave electronic assets for others to be distributed when you pass away. These assets can include documents, videos, photos, and audio files. Then you choose which assets to assign to your connections (friends and family).

An asset is a text, image, video, or audio file that you can designate to be distributed upon your passing. 

A connection is a friend or family member that you have added to your account. 

A bequest is an asset that has been bequeathed to you by another user. You will receive access to it when the owner passes away. 

Yes. You might consider scanning in your Will, as a PDF, and store it as a Document Asset.

No, the person may have his/her own account and may also be a connection in another account. Removing the connection from your account only removes him/her from your list of connections. 

No, if your connection creates a user account of their own, or is bequeathed assets by another user and notified of such, their account will show all bequests from all connections.However, they will not see how many or what types of assets, or have access to these assets until your passing. 

No, connections cannot see your assets until after you have passed away. Connections can see that you have left them assets, but not how many or what type. 

When you make a connection with a loved one, you may designate them as trusted. Please designate at least 2 connections as trusted. Using trusted friends and/or a death certificate, we will confirm your passing. A request for confirmation of life will also appear in your account. 

Connections do not need a paid account in order to access bequeathed assets. As part of the process of adding a connection, to a non-subscriber, a free account will be automatically created for the connection. They can login and view bequeathed assets and edit/update their profile. They cannot have connections or assets of their own however.

Payments & Billing

Payment and billing related questions/answers.

An initiation fee is charged to all paid users. The credit card you provide is charged monthly for 1/12 the annual fee of the plan you have chosen. You must ensure the credit card information is kept current for uninterrupted access to your account. 

The new plan rate will be charged to your credit card, monthly, for 1/12 the annual fee of your new plan, beginning the day you choose the new plan. When updating an existing account, you will not be charged the initiation fee again. 

We do. Once you have passed on, your assets will be released to your connections per your specifications. We will continue to provide storage and maintain your assets and connections for a period of two (2) years. This allows your connections the ability to come back to view assets at any time in the future.

Under the "My Profile", scroll all the way to the bottom. There, you will see your account summary and a button to "Upgrade" - click this button and follow the checkout process.

Under the "My Profile", scroll all the way to the bottom. There, you will see your account summary and a button to "View/Cancel Recurring" - click this button.The page will reload showing your complete history, and an option to cancel your service (we hope that you never feel the need to cancel).

To help say thanks to our active duty service men and women, and veterans, we offer bonus plans. The bonus plans add 5 additional assets to the user's selected account plan. For example, selecting a plan with 15 assets will result in the user having 20 assets available. These bonus plans do not cost any additional money (e.g. the user still only pays for the 15 asset plan), but do require that you prove your status with a government ID. To take advantage of this bonus, just send an e-mail to support@myownlastwords.com and include a scanned image of your ID (front side is sufficient).

While we do collect your credit card information at payment processing time, we do not store the information anywhere on our servers. Instead, the information is passed along to Authorize.Net. Authorize.Net processes all payments and subscriptions on our behalf. For the user, this simply means that as long as Authorize.Net tells us that your payments are current, we continue to keep your account active. If you need to change your credit card information (or upgrade your account) the same process is followed and again the credit card information is passed to Authorize.Net. Also, notice that all information is SSL encrypted during transmission to protect it further.